BGHS Governance

Batley Girls’ High School Local Governing Body

Batley Girls’ High School is part of Batley Multi Academy Trust, company number 7732537, a Company incorporated as private limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales and an exempt Charity. Registered Office Windmill Lane, Batley, WF17 0LD.

Please address correspondence to:
The Chair of Governors. Mrs Pam Pickles. Batley Girls’ High School, Windmill Lane, Batley, West Yorkshire. WF17 0LD.

Local Governing Bodies

Local Governing Bodies (LGBs) play a support and challenge role for their Academy’s senior leadership team and are responsible for making decisions on the operation of their relevant Academy, by way of the terms of reference set and the powers delegated to them by the Trustees in accordance with the appropriate terms of reference, carrying the Trust’s vision, policies and priorities forward and holding academy leadership to account. LGBs comprise the Headteachers, staff Governors, parent Governors and Co-opted Governors.

The constitution of Batley Multi Academy Trust is governed by its Articles which can be found here.

Batley Girls’ High School Local Governing Body

* Mrs Carol Brown (Staff) – (Resigned 24.7.16)
Mr Maurice Cook – (Resigned 29.09.16)
Mr Sajid Ghani – Appointed 29.9.16
* Mr Gareth Goddard (Staff) – Appointed 15.11.11. Re-appointed 15.11.15
Ms Julie Haigh (Co-Head ex-officio) – Appointed 1.9.14
Miss Samera Khalil – Appointed 1.9.15
*Mr Mark Limbert (Staff) – Appointed 1.9.11. Re-appointed 1.9.15
Mrs Ellen Loughhead – Appointed 1.9.11. Re-appointed 1.9.15
Mr Siraj Mayet – Appointed 8.11.11. Re-appointed 8.11.15
Mrs Ann McCall (Co-Head ex-officio) – Retired 31.8.17
Mrs Pam Pickles (Chair) – Appointed 1.9.11. Re-appointed 1.9.15. Appointed Chair 29.9.16
*Mr Ebrahim Ravat – Appointed 18.9.14
Mrs Carole Sallery – Appointed 30.6.16
Mr Jeremy Townend – Appointed 1.9.11. Re-appointed 1.9.15
*Mr Ahmed Vali – (Vice-Chair) Appointed 10.7.14
Dr Jonathan Barber – Appointed 24.11.16

Clerk      Mrs Sally Cook

*All resigned as Trustees on 31.8.15 and were appointed as Governors to BGHS LGB on 1.9.15

Previous Members

Mrs Jackie Eames – Appointed 1.9.11. End of term 31.8.15
Mr Robin Asby – Appointed 1.9.11. End of Term 31.8.15
Mr Shafiq Khan – Appointed 1.9.11. End of Term 31.8.15
The Late Mr Peter Rout – Appointed 1.9.11 for 4 year term. Served until 23.7.15

There are no relevant business or pecuniary interests.

The Local Governing Body has formally met 6 times during the year 2015/16 (in conjunction with the Board of Trustees).  Attendance during the year at meetings of the Local Governing Body was as follows:

GovernorMeetings attendedOut of a possible
C Brown36
M Cook56
G Goddard66
J Haigh (Co-Head)66
S Khalil36
M Limbert66
E Loughhead46
A McCall (Co-Head)66
S Mayet66
P Pickles66
E Ravat36
C Sallery (appointed 30 June 2016)11
J Townend56
A Vali56

Disqualification and Conflicts of Interest

The holding of the office of a Trustee or as a member of the Local Governing Body is subject to Articles 68 – 80 of the Articles of Association. Articles 97 and 98 refer to Conflicts of Interest.